Select Page

Kentucky, as well as all states in America, takes drinking and driving seriously, which is why there are severe punishments for doing so.

The Center for Disease Control and Prevention reports that alcohol impairment accounts for over 25 percent of all traffic-deaths in the United States. This does not count the number of crashes due to alcohol impairment that did not result in fatality.

The penalties increase each time the police pull you over for a DUI, but what is an aggravated DUI, what are the circumstances that lead to this charge and what are the penalties for the crime?

What is an aggravated DUI?

When you drink to the point of legal intoxication (.08 percent BAC) and get behind the wheel, police can pull you over and charge you with driving under the influence (DUI). If you are acting in a manner that puts others in even greater danger, the police may charge you with an aggravated DUI.

The circumstances that permit an aggravated DUI charge include:

  • Excessive speeding: Driving 30 miles per hour, or more, over the speed limit
  • Driving with a minor: If a passenger under 12 years old is in the car
  • Excessive intoxication: Blood alcohol content of .15 percent or over
  • Refusing chemical testing: Kentucky is an implied consent state, which means you automatically consent to this type of testing when you are pulled over on suspicion of a DUI.
  • Caused accident or death: If you crashed your vehicle and injured or killed another

Typically, the penalties for an aggravated DUI include a longer jail sentence and a higher fine.